How much water is enough for a day

I try to find the answer to the tough question of how much water is needed for an individual on a daily basis.

There is no denying the fact that there are advantages of drinking water. However, How much water intake is ideal for an individualdrinking too much water can be detrimental to your health as well. Therefore I wanted to find out what is ideal amount of water intake for a normal human being as once again I have this urge to be healthy and I would be starting this time around by first altering my diet and making it healthy. Of course water is an essential component.

On doing some research I found out that most of the advisories recommend drinking 8 ounces of water a day. Unfortunately the origin of this information is not scientific. In  1945 the Food and Nutrition Board which is not part of Institute of Medicine (IOM) had suggested drinking 8 ounces of water but later on it was found that the observation was not correct.

What is the recommended water intake per day

IOM liberally recommends  total daily water intake:of 3.7 liters (15 cups or 18 glasses) for the average adult male and 2.7 liters (11 cups or approximately 14 glasses) for females. Most people will find this daunting. It is recommended that one should gradually increase the intake rather than going all in on the first day. Another trick that helps is to flavor the water with various other ingredients as specified in the graphic below.

10-healthy-ways-to-increase-your-water-intake

Another thing to remember is that the requirement of water depends on many other factors which are

  • Age of the person
  • Weight of the individual
  • Geographic location of the individual
  • Types of food intake (whether the food consumed is well moisturised)
  • Amount of liquid intake and many others

Though consumption of water is essential for individual 2008 study from the Journal of the American Society of Nephrology demonstrated that actually drinking 8 ounces of water every day does not lead to significant health benefits.

The best way to remain hydrated is to listen to your body and take water whenever you feel thirsty and if you do that you are unlikely to suffer from hydrogenation.

Author: palimadra

An earthling who is a perpetual learner as I constantly find new stuff to learn. I make websites and help to improve their visibility for professionals and small businesses to ensure that I put the food on the table. Each time I realize that I have been in the industry for 15 years it seems surreal as it feels as if I started about a year back but then I realize I have a 13 year old daughter! Some of the skills I have acquired are HTML5 & CSS3 development Website Development and Design WordPress Development Tumblr Development Bootstrap Framework node.js Jekyll Mentoring some bright and hardworking people is something I have enjoyed in the past. Blogging allows me to share my thoughts with whoever wants to hear (or read). Training is another area which I have dabbled in training (web development, SEO and online marketing) and I plan to take it further. At times I do practice Taekwondo and if I can find a partner play Lawn Tennis. Should you have the desire, feel free to contact me.

Leave a Reply

